(044) 209 41 09 (097) 825 30 33 (093) 092 29 96

Breaking

School of Contemporary Dance Dance Centre Myway invites you to enroll in classes in the break dance group. Come - and dance with us!

B-boying or breaking (break dance) - street dance style that originated as part of hip-hop culture among African-American and Latino-American youth in New York in the early 1970s. Breaking name (break - pause), most likely arose because the best dancers at parties stepped up during musical breaks - pauses. And synonymous of the name - b-boying - entrenched when MC, distinguishing dancing boys and girls, declared: «B-boys! B-girls! ». Achieving popularity quickly in the media, this dance style has spread around the world, particularly in South Korea, France, Russia, Japan and Brazil.


  

Description of break-dance:

Bboying consists of four main elements: toprock, downrock, power moves and freezes. For a long time in the post-Soviet space, breaking erroneously was divided into "upper" and "lower". Motion for the so-called "top-break" were  borrowed from styles such as popping and locking. In fact, there is no lower breaking. Break dance – is a collection of different elements and level shift during the dance.

Originally b-boying was inextricably linked with hip-hop, nowadays modern musical trends help to extend musical range and choose the most suitable pace and swinging pattern of beats. It should be noted that the basis for breaking is gymnastics and acrobatics.

History of breaking

Breaking originated at the junction of several dance styles popular in America in the 1970s. Breaking formed the basis of the hip-hop and is currently one of the main ones. As for martial arts, you will notice that breakdancing is very similar to traditional Brazilian battle dance - capoeira. Pioneers of b-boying are Richard "Crazy Legs" Colon and Kenneth "Ken Swift" Gabbert - both are of the legendary team Rock Steady Crew, deny that they ever seen capoeira executed. They refer to James Brown and admit that most of them are inspired by movies about kung-fu starring Bruce Lee. The Vinyl «Good Foot» by James Brown gave birth to a dance in which people began to fall on the ground and combine it with elements of the rotation. And this very dance was the ancestor of this dance breaking.

Basic elements of breaking:

  • Toprock or Shuffle - the level at which the dancer performs leg movements (standing).
  • Downrock or Footwork - foot traffic, when the weight of the body rests on the hands.
  • Freezes - freezing, fading and fixation in an unusual, often acrobatic pose. Often breakers trying to fulfill freezes in their own manner, each dancer has in its arsenal a few special freezes.
  • Power Moves or Air Moves - the most spectacular and complex movements in b-boying, including rotational and acrobatic elements.
  • Floats – maintaining of balance during the rotation of the body due to arms.
  • Breaking battles – world breakdancing competition.

Battle - dance competition during which opponents demonstrate their skills toe to toe(1x1) or team against team. It all started when a DJ from the Bronx (one of the pioneers of hip-hop) DJ Kool Herc was experimenting, breaking bits on vinyls. Dancers came on the dance floor and were "breaking" their movements to the music.

At the same time, the battles have become very popular with the concept of "fight through dance, and not by force of arms." They forced the dancers to use their imagination to do new tricks and outperform the opponent  with fast and precise runs. Battle also helped to unite the dancers in the team. Groups were developing their own unique style and thus universally praised the breaking movement.

Break-dance teams

Members of the group Rock Steady Crew can be rightfully considered as "fathers" of style. Now «R. SC » turned into a dance empire, known around the world, which is not so easy to get into. From 70s Rock Steady Crew several times changed its composition, but always remained innovator of many original movements in Style. Also these teams should be noted: SECOND 2 NONE, Flying Steps, New York City Breakers, JabbaWockeeZ.

Music for the breaking performance:

Music for b-boying is not restricted to hip-hop, the main condition – is swinging beat. Breaking can be readily adapted to any music, most often it is mixes of DJs. Feature of mixes – is rhythm ranging from 110 to 135 beats.

Break-dance clothing:

Although the style of b-boys are very close to the hip-hop style, primarily break dancer should combine his costume style and convenience. Dance involves freedom of movement, so often b-boys select sportswear - baggy trousers, shirts, T-shirts, jerseys. Also for the convenience dancers use caps, bandanas, wristbands and other attributes.

At Myway dance school courses of breakdance (b-boying) are open. Training takes place in the classroom in a group in a special breaking studio (Kiev, Shevchenko district, m. Shuliavska, 3 Olexandra Dovzhenko street). Schedule of breakdance groups is right under the photo.

Group timetable in Dance Centre Myway:

(044) 209 41 09 (097) 825 30 33 (093) 066 16 07

Breaking

Школа современного танца Dance Centre Myway приглашает вас записаться на занятия в группу по брейк-дансу. Приходите – и танцуйте вместе с нами!

B-boying или breaking (break dance) - стиль уличных танцев, который возник как часть хип-хоп культуры среди афро-американской и латино-американской молодежи в Нью-Йорке в начале 1970-х годов. Название брейкинг (от слова брейк, break - пауза), скорее всего, возникло потому, что на вечеринках лучшие танцоры выходили во время музыкальных проигрышей – пауз. А синоним названия - b-boying - закрепился, когда MC, различая танцующих парней и девушек, объявлял: «B-boys! B-girls!». Быстро обретая популярность в средствах массовой информации, этот танцевальный стиль широко распространился по всему миру, особенно в Южной Корее, Франции, России, Японии и Бразилии.


  

Описание стиля break-dance:      
Би-боинг состоит из четырех основных элементов: toprock, downrock, power moves и freezes. Долгое время в постсоветском пространстве breaking ошибочно делился на «верхний» и «нижний». Движения для так называемого «верхнего брейка» заимствованы из таких стилей, как popping и locking. На самом деле нижнего брейкинга не существует. Break dance – это совокупность различных элементов и смена уровней во время танца.
Изначально би-боинг был неразрывно связан с хип-хопом, на данный момент современные музыкальные тенденции позволяют расширить музыкальный диапазон и подобрать наиболее подходящий темп и качающий узор битов. Нужно заметить, что базой для брейкинга служит гимнастика и акробатика.

История breaking  
Брейкинг возник на стыке нескольких танцевальных стилей, популярных в Америке в 1970-е годы. Breaking лег в основу танцевального стиля hip-hop и на данный момент является одним из основных. Что касается боевых искусств, можно заметить что брейк-данс очень похож на традиционный бразильский боевой танец – капоэйра. Первопроходцы би-боинга - Richard "Crazy Legs" Colon и Kenneth "Ken Swift" Gabbert - оба из легендарной команды Rock Steady Crew, отрицают, что когда-либо видели как исполняется капоэйра. Они ссылаются на Джеймса Брауна (James Brown) и признаются, что больше всего их вдохновляли фильмы о кунг-фу с Брюсом Ли. Пластинка «Good Foot» Джеймса Брауна породила танец, в котором люди стали сочетать падение на землю с элементами вращения. Именно этот танец стал прародителем брейкинга.

Основные элементы breaking:

  • Toprock или Shuffle - уровень, на котором танцор выполняет движения ногами (стоя).
  • Downrock или Footwork - движения ног, когда вес тела держится на руках.
  • Freezes - фризы, замирание и фиксация в необычной, часто акробатической позе. Зачастую, брейкеры стараются исполнить фризы в собственной манере, каждый танцор имеет в своем арсенале несколько особенных фризов.
  • Power Moves или Air Moves - самые зрелищные и сложные движения в би-боинге, включающие вращательные и акробатические элементы.
  • Floats - сохранение равновесия при вращении тела на руках.
  • Breaking battles  - мировые соревнования по брейкингу


Батл - танцевальное соревнование, в которм противники демонстрируют свое мастерство один на один  (1х1) или команда против команды. Все началось, когда диджей из Бронкса (один из родоначальников хип-хопа) DJ Kool Herc эксперементировал, ломая биты пластинок. Танцоры выходили на танцпол и «ломали» свои движения под музыку.

В то же время стали очень популярны батлы с концепцией «боритесь с помощью танца, а не с помощью оружия». Они заставляли танцоров использовать свое воображение, чтобы выполнить новые трюки и перетанцевать противника выполнением быстрых и четких забежек. Батлы также способствовали объединению танцоров в команды. Группы разрабатывали собственный неповторимый стиль и тем самым повсеместно прославляли движение breaking.

Команды break-dance

Участников коллектива Rock Steady Crew можно полноправно считать «отцами» стиля. Сейчас «R. S. C.» превратился в танцевальную империю, известную по всему миру, в которую не так то просто попасть. С 70-х годов Rock Steady Crew несколько раз меняли свой состав, но неизменно оставались новаторами многих оригинальных движений в стайле. Также следует отметить такие команды: SECOND 2 NONE, Flying Steps, New York City Breakers, JabbaWockeeZ.

Музыка для исполнения breaking:

Музыка для b-boying не ограничивается хип-хопом, главное условие - качающий бит. Breaking может быть легко адаптирован под любую музыку, чаще всего это миксы диджеев. Особенность миксов - ритм в пределах от 110 до 135 ударов.

Одежда для break-dance:

Хотя стиль би-боев очень близок к хип-хоп стилю, в первую очередь, танцор брейкинга должен сочетать в своем одеянии стиль и удобство. Танец предполагает свободу движений, поэтому чаще всего би-бои выбирают спортивную одежду - широкие штаны, майки, футболки, регланы. Также для удобства танцоры используют шапки, банданы, напульсник и другие атрибуты.

В школе танцев Myway открыты курсы по брейк-дансу (b-boying). Обучение проходит на занятиях в группе в специальной студии брейкинга (Киев, Шевченковский район, м. Шулявская, ул. Александра Довженко, 3). Расписание групп по брейк-дансу справа под фото.

Расписание групп в Dance Centre Myway: