(044) 209 41 09 (097) 825 30 33 (093) 092 29 96

Popping

Popping (papping, pop, from the English. Popping) - modern street dance style that gets its name from the characteristic for him popes (pop) and became popular due to its spectacularity and a set of specific techniques to create the illusion of non-human body movements.

History of popping

California considered as a homeland for popping. Popping emerged in 1970 thanks to the Fresno - native Sam Solomon (Sam Solomon) or Boogaloo Sam, founder of the dance team The Electric Boogaloos. There is another version of the origin popping, whose supporters say that it happened in the late 60's, even a few years before Electric Boogaloos, and Sam only contributed to the popularization of the style in the United States.

Popping, locking and breaking

With the spread of popping in the United States some dancers from New York began to use it's elements in breakdance. And after the premiers of Breakin 'and Breakin 2 movies in which popping, locking, and electric boogaloo called one term breaking, there was still existing misconception that popping - this breakdance top style . In fact (as you can read in the description of the hip-hop), the two dance styles have evolved separately from each other and have many differences: breaking was born in the Bronx, New York and performed mostly on the ground, while popping, locking and electric boogaloo took the start in California and performed standing.

 

 Techniques and substyles of popping

Although originally built on the techniques of popping pop, and hit, the constant presence of this style on the dance battles led to the fact that artists began to use other expressive ilussion directions which later came to be used in popping as it's techniques:

  • Strobing - the illusion of movement in the strobe light;
  • Tutting or King Tut - the style in which the dancers use their hands and feet to create positions of angles and geometric shapes;
  • Waving - successive fluid moves, creating a ripple effect, moving from hands to body;
  • Floating, gliding and sliding - technique of footwork , the famous "Moonlight walk" Mi Jackson took it away;
  • Robot - imitation of robot moves;
  • Slow Motion - specially slow moves like slow motion;
  • Puppet - imitation of puppets moves;
  • Animation - style with a deliberate slow and fast movements, imitating;
  • Crazy legs - dynamic sub-genre in which constant movement of knees and feet crossing gives the impression of crazy and uncontrolled leg.

Musicians popular in popping world:

Kraftwerk, Yellow Magic Orchestra, Twighlight 22, Egyptian Lover, World Class Wrecking Crew, Afrika Bambaataa, Kurtis Blow, Whodini, Run DMC и другие.

Famous poppers of the world and Ukraine:

Salah Benlemqawanssa, Michael "Boogaloo Shrimp" Chambers, Steffan "Mr. Wiggles" Clemente, Suga Pop, Nam "Poppin'" Hyun Joon, ‘Boppin’ Andre Diamond, David ‘Elsewhere’ Bernal, Ozone, Nixone.

Group timetable in Dance Centre Myway:

(044) 209 41 09 (097) 825 30 33 (093) 066 16 07

Popping

Поппинг (паппинг, пап; от англ. popping) – уличный современный танцевальный стиль, получивший название от характерных для него папов (pop) и ставший популярным благодаря своей зрелищности и набору специфических техник, создающих иллюзию нечеловеческих движений тела. 

История паппинга

Родиной паппинга считается Калифорния. Popping возник в 1970 годах благодаря уроженцу города Фресно Сэму Соломону (Sam Solomon) или Boogaloo Sam, основателю танцевальной команды The Electric Boogaloos. Существует и другая версия возникновения паппинга, сторонники которой утверждают, что случилось это в конце 60-х, еще за несколько лет до Electric Boogaloos, а Сэм лишь поспособствовал популяризации стиля в США.

Popping, locking и breaking

По мере распространения паппинга в США его элементы начали использовать танцоры breakdance из Нью-Йорка - би-бои (b-boys). А после выхода в прокат фильмов Breakin' и Breakin 2, в которых popping, locking и electric boogaloo назывались одним термином breaking, возникло существующее до настоящего времени заблуждение, будто паппинг - это стиль верхнего брейкданса. В действительности (как вы можете прочитать в описании хип-хопа), эти два танцевальных стиля развивались отдельно друг от друга и имеют множество отличий: breaking зародился в Бронксе, Нью-Йорк и исполняется в основном в партере, тогда как popping, locking и electric boogaloo взяли начало в Калифорнии и исполняются стоя.

Техники и подстили паппинга

Хотя изначально popping строится на техниках pop и hit, постоянное присутствие этого стиля на танцевальных батлах привело к тому, что его исполнители стали использовать другие выразительные илюзионные напрвления, которые впоследствии стали использоваться в паппинге как его техники:

  • Strobing - иллюзия движения в свете стробоскопа;
  • Tutting или King Tut - стиль, в котором танцоры используют положения своих рук и ног для создания положений из прямых углов и геометрических фигур;
  • Waving - последовательные плавные движения, создающие эффект волны, перемещающейся по рукам и корпусу;
  • Floating, gliding и sliding - техники работы стопами, знаменитая "лунная дорожка" Макла Джексона произошла именно отсюда;
  • Robot - подражание движению роботов;
  • Slow Motion - техника движения как бы при замедленной съемке;
  • Puppet - имитация движений кукол-марионеток;
  • Animation - стиль с умышленным замедлением и ускорением движений, подражающим;
  • Crazy legs - динамичный подстиль, в котором построянное движение колен и перекрещивание стоп создает впечатление безбашенных и неуправляемых ног.

Музыканты и исполнители, популярные среди танцоров popping:

Kraftwerk, Yellow Magic Orchestra, Twighlight 22, Egyptian Lover, World Class Wrecking Crew, Afrika Bambaataa, Kurtis Blow, Whodini, Run DMC и другие.

Выдающиеся папперы мира и Украины:

Salah Benlemqawanssa, Michael "Boogaloo Shrimp" Chambers, Steffan "Mr. Wiggles" Clemente, Suga Pop, Nam "Poppin'" Hyun Joon, ‘Boppin’ Andre Diamond, David ‘Elsewhere’ Bernal, Ozone, Nixone.

Расписание групп в Dance Centre Myway: